Woodhouse Grange
Cricket Club

Woodhouse Grange Academy

The Woodhouse Grange Academy XI was formed in 2001 with the purpose of integrating young cricketers into senior cricket. When the York area junior age groups were realigned, we faced the prospect of having little cricket to offer a talented crop of sixteen year old players. It was therefore decided to enter the Academy into the Pocklington Evening League.

Under the expert guidance of former 1st XI player Stuart Craven, the Academy has proved to be an outstanding success, with many juniors developing significantly. The Woodhouse Grange Academy has won the Pocklington Evening League on four occasions, a superb achievement when, barring the odd cameo from a senior player or two, it has generally been a team full of boys against men. They have also won the celebrated Wilson Todd Cup on 6 occasions during this time.

Academy players often feature in our Intermediate XI, which plays on many Sundays throughout the season in the York & District Intermediate League, a competition for predominantly U18 players.

WIth Stuart now saving himself for Saturdays after many years of sterling service, the Academy XI is now captained by Chris Bilton. As one of the club's outstanding players and himself a graduate of the Academy, Chris will set the right example to impressionable young cricketers.

Following the demise of the Pocklington Evening League, the Academy has been entered into Division 3 of the Foss Evening League for 2016. With our usual Evening League XI in the First Division of the same league, there is plenty of cricket to be played on Wednesday nights this summer.

Keep posted on the Academy's season by using these links:

Foss Evening League - Fixtures
Foss Evening League - Results & Reports
Foss Evening League - Table

Academy Cup TriumphOur Academy XI celebrate another addition to the trophy cabinet, flanked by stalwarts Val Nolton (scorer, far left) and Peter Nolton (umpire, far right), with jubilant leader Stuart Craven (front row, second from left).