Woodhouse Grange
Cricket Club

Woodhouse Grange 1st XI

Woodhouse Grange first team is reknown for its immense achievements, not only locally but also on a national level.

Following many years of sustained success in the York & District Senior Cricket League, our 1st XI now play in the highly competitive ECB Yorkshire Premier League North. Introduced in 2016, this league features the leading cricket clubs in North Yorkshire and surrounding areas, including, amongst others, the Yorkshire Academy XI, York Cricket Club and the 2016 YPLN champions Harrogate CC.

Alongside 3 other ECB Premier Leagues in the Yorkshire pyramid system, this league sits below below only the Yorkshire County Cricket Club’s 1st & 2nd XI's. It is therefore the highest possible level for the amateur player.

Our first team are captained by Andrew Bilton, and with his brother Chris serving as deputy. 2017 is Andrew's second season at the helm, having taken over the reigns from the long serving and highly successful Steve Burdett. The Bilton brothers - who incidentally both have the distinction of scoring a half-century in winning Lord's finals - have followed in the footsteps of their father Russell and grandfather Alasdair Swann in becoming accomplished 1st XI players. They have an exciting challenge ahead leading the team in the what is highest level that the club has ever competed on a weekly basis.

The 1st XI is based around a strong squad of players that have nearly all been with the club for many years, the majority coming through our junior ranks. This is a trend that we hope to continue for many years to come.

Woodhouse Grange first team have been crowned York & District Senior League Champions a record 15 times. This has included two separate spells (1994-1997 and 2011-2014) of four consecutive titles, and 4 league & cup doubles (1987, 1996, 2008 & 2012).  

In addition to these considerable achievements, we have the distinction of winning the National Village Cup on four occasions (1995, 2007, 2014 & 2015) - another record. Overall our 1st XI have had the honour of appearing at Lord's seven times, confirming Woodhouse Grange's stature as one of the most successful amateur cricket clubs in the country.


Woodhouse Grange - Honours and Trophies

1st XI Fixtures 2017

1st XI Banner

Above: Our 2015 National Village Cup-Winning 1st XI squad

Back row (left to right): Steve Burdett (Club Captain 2006-2015), Tom Quinn, Mike Hattee, David Suddaby, Andrew Bilton (1st XI Captain 2016-), Mike Burdett, Andrew Horner, Josh Jackson.

Front row (left to right): Chris Suddaby, Tom Young, Nick Hadfield (NVC Captain 2013-2015), Chris Bilton, Scott Shepherd